How to Defend Yourself Against a DUI in Las Vegas, Nevada

When it comes to avoiding a DUI charge in Las Vegas, your best bet is, of course, to simply not drink and drive. However, if you do end up being pulled over by the police due to suspicion of drunk driving, you could end up in some serious hot water. Here’s what you need to know about Nevada DUI laws.

Signs the Police Look For

There are certain behaviors on the road that police look for when it comes to spotting drivers that might be operating their vehicle under the influence. Even if you’re not being accused of drinking while driving, here are signs to look out for as well.

• Making overly wide turns.
• Swerving between lanes or straddling the center line.
• Barely missed collisions with objects or people.
• Drifting or weaving from one lane to another.
• Ignoring turn lanes or driving off-road.
• Driving too slowly or too fast.
• Stopping for no reason on the road.
• Uneven or erratic braking.
• Tailgating or other aggressive driving.
• Driving on the wrong side of the road.
• Responding slowly to traffic signs or lights.
• Changing speed suddenly.
• Driving without headlights at night.

Know the Laws

First of all, you should be aware of the actual laws that you’re subject to if you’re driving within the city of Las Vegas or anywhere else in Nevada. For that, you need to know the legal limit when driving in Vegas. This is just a sampling of some of the most important laws you need to know; there are of course many more.

Like in other states, Nevada uses the Blood Alcohol Concentration metric for determining if you have been driving under the influence. A BAC of 0.08 percent or higher is considered over the legal limit in Nevada, and it’s also widely considered to be the threshold for impairment across the majority of US states.

However, be aware that if you’re under the age of 21 or if you’re a commercial driver, the BAC threshold in Nevada is lower. Young drivers are in danger of being arrested for a DUI if their BAC is 0.02 percent or higher, while commercial drivers can only have a BAC of less than 0.04 percent to be under the legal limit.

Meanwhile, you’ll be in even more hot water if you refuse to take a breathalyzer test if you’re pulled over by the police for suspected drunk driving. There’s an implied consent law in Nevada, which means that if you get behind the wheel while drunk or high you’re implying consent to be tested – so if you refuse, you could be arrested on the spot.

Much like in other states, Nevada also has an “open container” law that makes it illegal to have opened alcoholic beverages anywhere within the car while it’s being driven. Passenger areas of limos, taxis and buses are exempt from this, as are living areas of RVs or motor homes.

Recommended Posts

Leave a Comment