DUI Laws in Las Vegas, and What You Need to Know.

DUI, or Driving Under the Influence, is one of the more common laws broken in Las Vegas, not to mention the rest of the state of Nevada and across the US. Here’s what you need to know about DUI laws in Las Vegas to help you avoid running afoul of the law.

Know How The Police Spot a DUI.

Police use their judgment when it comes to people suspected of driving under the influence. For the most part, cops trust their gut, but there are some types of behaviors that are red flags when it comes to probable cause for a DUI stop. Even if you’re driving sober, look out for these types of behaviors on the road and give anyone driving this way a wide berth.

These actions include:

  • Performing turns that are overly wide.
  • Swerving from one lane to another or driving in the middle of two lanes.
  • Near-misses with people or objects.
  • Drifting from one lane to another, or weaving back and forth.
  • Going straight in turn lanes, or driving along the side of the road.
  • Exceeding the speed limit or going exceedingly slow.
  • Simply stopping in the middle of the road for no discernible reason.
  • Braking in an uneven or erratic manner.
  • Aggressive driving like tailgating, flashing high beams, etc.
  • Driving into oncoming traffic.
  • Failing to respond to traffic signs or traffic lights in a timely manner.
  • Sudden or erratic changes in speed.
  • Not using headlights while driving at night.

Don’t Blow It

A breathalyzer test is used to determine if you are illegally driving under the influence. This test measures the concentration of alcohol in your bloodstream through your breath. This is a common method for determining sobriety not just in Las Vegas but in other cities in other states as well.

Do you have to submit to a breathalyzer test? Well, no. In Nevada you can refuse to submit to blood tests or breathalyzer tests. However, all a police officer has to do is make a phone call to get a warrant, after which you do have to submit to whatever the warrant prescribes. Most people simply consent and go along with whatever tests the police officer requests to avoid making things more difficult. Remember that you can call up your DUI attorney to get advice on what you should do.

When is Blood Alcohol Over .08?

In Nevada, much like in most of the country, you’re considered impaired if you blow more than .08 percent BAC during a traffic stop. However, if you’re a commercial driver you’re subject to stricter standards – you’re only allowed to blow .04 percent BAC before being considered driving under the influence. Meanwhile it’s even more strict for young drivers under the legal drinking age; if you’re under 21 you can only blow a .02 BAC before being brought in for a DUI. This is, of course, to deter underage drinking.

It’s hard to consider how much is too much if you’re thinking of grabbing a drink before driving home. The typical human body can metabolize around one drink per hour, but there are many variables at play – size and weight are two, while whether you’ve eaten a meal or not is another. There are many people who can have a single glass of wine and “blow” over a .08.  This means that the best way to avoid a DUI is to not drink at all if you have to drive. If you can’t handle this, make sure you have a good criminal defense attorney, because you could end up facing some serious repercussions.

 

Sources: http://dui.drivinglaws.org/nevada.php

http://www.dmv.org/nv-nevada/automotive-law/dui.php

 

Recommended Posts

Leave a Comment