What You Need to Know About Drug Possession Laws in Las Vegas

Las Vegas has a well-earned reputation of being a bit of a wild town. The slogan “what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas” might be popular with the tourism board, but the fact is that there are some very serious drug possession laws not just in Las Vegas, but in Nevada as a whole, that could ruin your good time, whether you’re a tourist or a resident.

If you’ve been accused of drug possession in Las Vegas, you need a good criminal defense lawyer to help you navigate the murky waters of the state’s drug possession laws. Here’s a quick primer on the different drug laws of the state and what kinds of penalties they carry.

Types of Crimes

You can be charged with a number of potential drug crimes in Las Vegas. The following are just a few of these crimes; please be aware that this list is not exhaustive by any means.

Controlled substance trafficking is knowingly bringing drugs into the state, delivering them there, or manufacturing or selling them within Nevada, combined with any of the following:
• Knowingly, and constructively or actually, possessing large amounts of schedule 1 or schedule 2 drugs
• Possession while intending to sell
• Possessing, manufacturing, transporting, or selling any controlled substance in Las Vegas

Another type of charge might be drug possession charges. This means any amount of the controlled substance is found on your person or in your possession. Drugs prohibited in Nevada include oxycodone, methamphetamine, LSD, cocaine, heroin, opiates, marijuana, and many others. If you have a prescription for certain substances this would make you exempt under certain circumstances.

Types of Penalties

Much like it is in many states, the penalties for drug possession in Nevada can depend on how much of the drug you were caught with and what schedule the drug is on.

Category B felonies, for example, can led to a minimum of one to six years in prison and a maximum fine of $50,000 if you’re caught with anywhere from 4 grams to 14 grams of the illegal substance in your possession. If you have been 14 and 28 grams, these penalties increase to 2 to 15 years in prison and a maximum fine of $100,000.

Meanwhile, if you have 28 grams or more, this is considered a category A felony in Las Vegas, and this carries the most brutal of penalties such as incarceration for 25 years to life and/or a fine of $500,000.

Marijuana Penalties

As marijuana is one of the most common “party drugs” to be caught with in Las Vegas, special attention should be paid to Nevada law concerning the substance, which is still illegal within the state. In many cases, a first offense can result in a suspended sentence or probation, though you can spend as many as four years in prison and be hit with a fine as large as $20,000 for possession with intent to sell. Second offenses are considered category C felonies with a maximum five year prison sentence – additionally, suspended sentences or probationary periods are off the table. Additional offenses could see you being put away for as long as fifteen years.

Recommended Posts

Leave a Comment