Las Vegas Drug Possession Laws and You

Sometimes, what happens in Vegas doesn’t necessarily stay there. While Nevada’s biggest tourist draw has a reputation for being party central, there are still laws that need to be followed – and criminal drug possession laws are no exception. If you’re a resident or a tourist, you’re expected to keep your nose clean, so here’s what you need to know about drug possession laws for Las Vegas, Nevada.

Getting a Good Criminal Defense Lawyer

Nevada drug laws are notoriously harsh for a state known for the “anything goes” city of Las Vegas. This means that if you do end up on the wrong side of one of these laws, your best bet to save your skin is always going to be getting a good criminal defense lawyer. You can’t be expected to know these laws inside and out, or even a little bit, and you need the expertise of an attorney who can navigate these murky waters. It could end up meaning the difference between a slap on the wrist and a lengthy jail sentence!

Trafficking in Controlled Substances

One of the most common Las Vegas drug laws that is violated is the one concerning trafficking in controlled substances. You can be accused of violating this law if you knowingly bring drugs into the state, manufacture them in Nevada, or sell them there, and it’s made worse if you:
• Knowingly possess large amounts of these drugs, either actually or constructively, especially if they’re considered schedule 1 or schedule 2.
• Possess these drugs with “intent to sell.”
• Possess, manufacture, transport, or sell any illegal drug while in the city.

There are a plethora of controlled substances that are illegal to possess in Nevada or Las Vegas. A short list includes common drugs like marijuana, cocaine, methamphetamine, LSD, and heroin, but can also cover prescription painkillers like oxycodone; if you’re caught possessing these drugs without a prescription you’re going to be in trouble.

The Penalties You Can Face

Nevada state law takes into account how much of a particular substance you’re found with and what schedule that substance is. For the most part, smaller amounts are usually categorized as class B felonies (typically up to 28 grams) while any amount over that is considered a class A felony. Such a felony can see you put away for as long as 25 years to life in addition to possibly having to pay up to $500,000 in fines. Even the lowest level of a class B felony isn’t fantastic either; if you have 4 to 14 grams of a controlled substance, you could end up slapped with a $50,000 fine and spend anywhere from one to six years in prison.

In other words: do yourself a favor and leave the “party favors” at home. If you do get caught, get yourself an experienced criminal defense attorney to ensure that your legal rights are protected at all times, unless you want to guarantee that you end up going up the river.

Recommended Posts

Leave a Comment